Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Boys Championship Group 1 & 2

posted 31 Aug 2017, 14:41 by Athlone GAA

Athlone 3-19 Killucan 1-6

The minor boys qualified for the Minor Championship Group 1 quarter-final when they finished the group stage with a comprehensive 3-19 to 1-6 win over Killucan, in what was their third away game out of three in the group.  Enda Daly opened the scoring, followed by a well-struck 45 from Kieran Colclough.  Killucan replied with a free of their own before Josh Beaumont netted his first goal with an easy tap in. A flurry of points from Daly, Beaumont, Colclough (free), and Stephen O'Connor followed, before David Cleary got Athlone's second goal with superb strike into the top corner from 25 yards.  Killucan replied with a point of their own from play, while O'Connor and Benny Martin replied for Athlone on the stroke of half time.

After Kevin Rowan had gotten Athlone off the mark for the second half, Killucan struck for a goal of their own. However, Athlone responded well and Kieran Colclough reeled off three points from play, either side of another Athlone major, the second of the game for Josh Beaumont. Killucan battled gamely and scored 3 points back to back, but Athlone finished strongly with seven points in a row from captain Shane Allen, two frees from Benny Martin, another two from Colclough (1 '45) and one each from David Cleary and Enda Daly.

The win ensured the lads have qualified for the Division 1 quarter-final, which is provisionally fixed for Wednesday 6th of September. Having finished second in the group, they will go in as underdogs against one of the big guns from the other groups, but a similar level of performance from the lads will give them every chance.

Athlone:  John Duddy; Joe Devins, James Finlass, Patrick Ryan; David Cleary (1-1), Diarmuid Martin, Paddy McGettigan; Shane Allen (0-1), Kevin Rowan (0-1); Stephen O'Connor (0-2), Kieran Colclough (0-7, 2 '45, 1f), Sean Dowd; Josh Beaumont (2-1), Benny Nartin (0-3, 2f), Enda Daly (0-3). Subs: JJ Offorjama, Mark Tallon, Donagh Prendergast, Luke Kelly, Rytis Liaukivicius, Eamon Martin, Anthony Johnson, Aaron Forde, Niall Doolan.